Posted in Uncategorized

The Power of Decision!

13th of March was the last time I posted something on my blog! It has been a long long while now and I do have a solid reason for that. I know, I made a promise of being a regular on my blog but sometimes priorities change!

My mum got operated twice within this period and so I was busy. No, not busy. The word ‘Busy’ would be an understatement. I’ve never worked this hard my entire life that I’ve, currently, lost the desire to workout! These household chores are making me, surprisingly, very fit!! So, end of the story. My mum got operated and hence I didn’t have any time to share my ideas.

Now, let’s get to the point.

My Facebook friends, and two of my best friends, would remember that I started reading this book ‘Awaken The Giant Within’ by Anthony Robbins, which was recommended by my favorite YouTuber, Jessica Harlow. She also tweeted me saying that this book changed her life completely and so, I couldn’t resist reading it.

Now, I can’t tell you how Tony Robbins has left a deep impression in my mind as well as my heart! If only I could hug him and tell him how much thankful I am that he wrote this book. Though, it’s a shame that I haven’t read the whole book yet, considering I had started reading it way way back! The reason, same as above and also my last post, PROCRASTINATION! I am guilty!

But now let’s just talk about THE POWER OF DECISION.

Tony Robbins says that any life changing experience begins with a ‘decision’.

I know you would say that it is a widely known fact! What’s new??

Now, if, say, you wanna be healthier, you would make a decision not to crave in for oily foods or sugary foods etc etc. But let’s just talk about reality, shall we? These decisions are as hollow as the so-called ‘New Year Resolutions’! Aren’t they?

A person who wanna be fit, and has made the above decisions, cannot succeed until and unless he takes an immediate ACTION to take that decision to the NEXT LEVEL. That’s how I’ll put it. THE NEXT LEVEL.

You know, we all are impatient beings. I know that, and so do you. We want results. We fantasize about those results and in this futile process, we forget to work towards achieving that result.

Happens, right?

Tony Robbins says,” A real decision is measured by the fact that you’ve taken new ACTION.” And I’ve quoted these lines straight from his book.

Now, okay, we’ve taken that first step. Say, while grocery shopping, we didn’t buy any sugar, or any processed food. No sugar at home equals no sugary food in our stomach and hence a healthier life! Easy, right?

What next??

You can’t be healthy just by not eating sugar!!! WHAT NEXT??

Tony Robbins says, ” The more decisions you make, the better you’re going to become at making them.”

Get that?

It’s like, our decision making ability is like that Volkswagen engine that, if, used regularly, ensures a better life (for the engine of course!). Urgh! Such a pathetic example! But let’s just move on. I hope you get what I’m trying to say here…

Now, let’s carry on with that ‘healthy living example’ only. Next you make a decision to sleep early. You know, that ‘Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man (and a woman too) healthy wealthy and wise!’ thing. Then next decision you make is to go for a morning walk! Next decision you make is to eat your food at regular intervals! And so on…

Okay, this was just my routine when I decided to live a healthy life 😉

But, when my mum got operated and I had to be at the hospital at nights, it was completely impossible to go for long walks in the morning. So, end of the dream of a ‘healthy life’?

No!!

That’s when Tony Robbins gave me another advice!

He said,” Cultivate the art of FLEXIBILTY.”

Now what’s that? I’ll continue with my example that I’ve dragged on through the beginning.

I decided to practice Suryanamaskars! It’s like super easy, doesn’t take much time, makes my belly super super flat and I can do it at any time of the day. VOILA!

Remember one thing always; Excuses are DESTRUCTIVE!

So, whatever it is. If you’ve made a decision, stick to it. Take actions to make that desire of yours a reality! If Plan A doesn’t work out, go for a Plan B. It is in your moments of decisions that your destiny is shaped.

Know that it’s your decision, and not your conditions, that determine your destiny!

All these steps can be applied to anything you want. To your career, your love-life etc etc.

Remember, there are no failures in life. There are only results!!!

And if you really wanna succeed, you must have a long term focus. Often, what seems impossible in the short-term becomes very possible in the long term if you persist. And believe me on that. It’s tried and tested.

Another important lesson I learnt from Tony Robbins is:
The 3 decisions that control your destiny are:
– Your decisions about WHAT TO FOCUS ON.
– Your decisions about WHAT THINGS MEAN TO YOU.
– Your decisions about WHAT TO DO TO CREATE THE RESULTS YOU DESIRE.

So, I’ll end it here for today. Thanks a lot for sticking to the end. My brother is here to irritate me singing ‘Mundeyaan ch jachda main. ni sohniye kudiyaan ch jachdi hain tu’!!! He’s mad!

And one thing more, highly highly recommended book ‘Awaken the Giant Within’. Long live Tony Robbins, his wife, his kids, his whole family and long live everybody reading this 🙂

Much Love,


H

Author:

Spreading love and being grateful for everything God has blessed me with. Trying to persuade people to live a happy life and give more to society.

Leave a Reply

