Posted in Uncategorized

Indian Cinema- Objectifying Women!

We Indians have this peculiar habit of criticising everything ‘Indian’. Be it the Indian designers, Indian music, Indian cuisine or the larger than life Indian cinema.
Post the Nirbhaya case, the discussions at my home were mostly Bollywood-centric. My mother has always been against the item song trend and she used to say that rapes are actually increasing because of women being portrayed as objects.
I, being the ‘supposed modern girl’, totally opposed her views. I always told her that it’s about the creativity and you cannot kill art because of a few rape cases. At that time, Honey Singh had also been targeted for using double meaning lyrics in his songs.
I didn’t matter to me. I even had a huge argument with my teacher on this topic, because I just couldn’t understand why are they blaming Bollywood for rapes? Clearly, there has been a huge lacking in the values been taught to our generation. Parenting had failed and not Bollywood, as been discussed everywhere.
But from past few days, Bollywood has disgusted me. I watched the video of this new song by Mika Singh. Sunny Leone has been projected in an utterly wrong way. Mika’s singing, and the song will be a huge dance number in most parties and marriages, but the video…..dismal.
And when I started observing the songs carefully, Honey Singh’s ‘Sunny Sunny’ caught my eye. Evelyn Sharma and Nicole Faria, these two beautiful ladies had to pose and dance in sexual ways. I was stunned.
Not everybody possesses brilliant acting skills like that of Parineeti Chopra, Vidya Balan and Kangana Ranaut. Either actresses have to dumb themselves down in big budget movies like Om Shanti Om or Student of the Yearto get attention of the public or they choose the easy way out of exposing themselves like Sunny Leone or Evelyn Sharma.
I am being judgemental. Yes, I am. But these ladies should think through the whole idea of being in the public eye.
Bollywood has always, well not always, but mostly imitated Hollywood. Then why not in this case too?
We have seen how the Hollywood actresses are being looked up to by their fans. We have Angelina Jolie portraying the role of the wife of a slain journalist in Pakistan and then we have Jessica Chastain playing an agent in the movie ‘Zero dark Thirty’.
Not only the ‘dark genre’, Hollywood actresses have also experimented with movies like ‘Devil Wears Prada’, ‘The Bling Ring’, ‘The Blind Side’ and ‘The Tourist’ to name a few. Women are treated with respect and they get roles that they are capable of.
Who are the actresses who have reigned in the ‘serious cinema’ in Bollywood? Parineeti, Vidya Balan, Priyanka Chopra, Sonam Kapoor (but she has failed to hone her acting skills which remain a big question mark) and Kangana Ranaut…. I can’t think of any more names right now.
I watched Akshay Kumar’s ‘Holiday’ a month ago. Good storyline, but the whole point of fitting in Sonakshi Sinha was beyond my understanding. A movie which draws a picture of the plight of army men and then you blend it with a disgusting love story? It seemed like I’m watching commercials in between, because I was getting disturbed every time they brought in Sonakshi Sinha. They could have at least given her a substantial role in the movie if they wanted an actress that bad!
I’m continuously criticising Indian actresses and hence I can’t stop myself from bringing in Deepika Padukone. She won the Best actressaward for ’Chennai Express’. I mean, like seriously? Do we not have anybody in the film fraternity who can protest this?
India, where dumb comedy movies reap in all the benefits when it comes to business as well awards, the growth of serious cinema is highly unlikely. I don’t mean to say that we should completely abolish the comic genre. I, myself, like to indulge in these movies when I am all free and need to relax, but at least make movies that can bring forth the true colours of India! Appreciate them, reward them at least?
Too, much Bollywood talking, I know! But I really wanted to share my views on this topic.
Much Love,
H
Author:

Spreading love and being grateful for everything God has blessed me with. Trying to persuade people to live a happy life and give more to society.

Leave a Reply

