Posted in Uncategorized

What Women Want?

DISCLAIMER: I am against any kind of discrimination; and that includes discriminating against men, too.

A few years ago, I heard it on TV, I guess it was Christine Lagarde, the head of IMF, I guess! I’m not sure. But what ‘that lady’ said, still resonates in my mind. She said that women can never be equal to men, and that is because, women and men have unique qualities.

From that point of time, I have this sense that yes, God made two genders, and yes, they both are MEANT TO BE UNIQUE!

But because women can so easily be ‘played with’ (I’m sorry I had to use such language), women are considered as the weaker gender.

My last two posts were solely dedicated to Princess Diana, and last night I began watching her most controversial interview; the famous and the most outrageous ‘BBC Panorama’ interview that aired back in 1995. As I was so engrossed into what she was saying, the one thing that struck me at that moment was when she said that despite of her turbulent marriage with the Prince of Wales, she had to carry on with her duties ‘as a mother, as a wife and as a Princess’.

The moment I was born, I was just a daughter. As I grew up, I became a girl who was free-spirited. I had dreams, ambitions. I wanted to fly. I still want to. As I came into my teens, I became more acquainted with myself. I knew what I wanted. I knew who I was. But then, BOOM! Reality struck me. I am ‘the weaker gender’. I am supposed to bring honor to my family. I am supposed to be sophisticated and not a ‘rogue’ like guys. I am supposed to be responsible, to act my age, to be what this society ‘allows’ women to be.

A couple of months later, I will be an independent woman. I will be on my own. But still, I won’t be able to live my life completely on my terms.

A couple of years later, I will be a wife. I will be a working woman, but I will not be as independent.

As time passes, I will be playing many roles; viz., a daughter, a professional, a wife, a daughter-in-law, a mother, a friend, a responsible citizen etc.

More power to all the ladies out there who are already doing all this; who are living not for themselves, but for the people around them. A wife has to manage her parents, her children, her in-laws and also her work. If that balance dwindles, a lot is at stake.

Take the example of Princess Diana. Right at the point she got married, she knew that Charles was having an affair. But she kept it going, for her family, her kids and her love for her unfaithful husband. But in the end, she succumbed to the pressure of being an ‘ideal woman’.

Who is an ideal woman, by the way? The one who lives in the boundaries drawn by this society? The one who has rules imposed upon her, but can’t do so when it comes to others? The one who is always there for others, but ‘will manage’ on her own, when she needs someone?

We have unique qualities. In spite of the obvious, testosterone and estrogen, of course. Women are more effusive. In stead of being violent, we sort issues more amicably, or maybe not sort them, but we never resort to violence. While running a nation, that constitutes women, too, wouldn’t it be beneficial to give them their share of rights? Wouldn’t it be fairer to women, not being appreciated for what’s outside, but vice versa?

I heard this very demeaning comment by some guy on the internet that if women need respect from us then they should just stop wearing makeup! And, FYI, I do reckon that all men aren’t the same. I have some very kind and understanding guy friends who would never support this kind of view.

Our face and our body is what God gave us, and of course the genes of our parents. But our ideals, our principles, our values and our limits are what we decide. Love us, appreciate us and support us for our inner qualities.

To all my sweethearts out there, you don’t need the approval of men. You are unique, remember that. Men are unique, respect that.

We are flowers of the same garden, sowed and nourished by the same gardener (GOD). In stead of pulling each other down, we need to empower the different genders. This world is a beautiful place, with a few flaws that can be rectified with rational thinking and breaking the shackles of old laws. Embrace modernism that is full of opportunities and not predators.

images

Much Love,

H. 

Author:

Spreading love and being grateful for everything God has blessed me with. Trying to persuade people to live a happy life and give more to society.

3 thoughts on “What Women Want?

Leave a Reply

