Posted in inspiration, social

Greedy Suckers!

“I don’t know what a gulab jamun is”, came the reply. I am always offering something to Avnish, my student, son of the man who irons our clothes. One day, it was gulab jamun. But when I heard his reply, I was awestruck.

I don’t have a sweet-tooth. And it appears to me that Avnish ain’t fond of sweets either. But being unaware of what a gulab jamun is, is something hard to digest.

Moments like these make me happy and sad, all at the same time. Once, during his summer holidays, he was cribbing about how he cannot visit his paternal village in North India because of the holidays homework. I asked him that what was so special about his village. He, being a mischievous kid that he is, told me that he has to stealthily pluck mangoes in this city, whereas he has his own mango trees in his village.

Now, you see how strong the law of attraction is. When my mother comes home, it is like a ritual, that both Avnish and I get something to eat or drink. And that day, she gave us both bowl full of mangoes. I watched him relish those.

Often, we neglect the blessings we have. If gulab jamuns are lying in my refrigerator, I tend to give a disgusting look at them. But this kid, right here hasn’t even heard of them. When my mum is always pleading me to eat mangoes, else they will rot lying in the fridge, I eat them with displeasure. But this kid yearns for them.

That pack of hot chocolate mixture is lying waste in the kitchen cabinet because we have gotten bored of it, but Avnish loves it.

Moments like these transformed me from a disheartened and depressed girl, to a forever grateful human being.

When people rant about ‘on their iPhones’ on how their business isn’t going well, when people complain that they don’t have enough money to buy that designer bag, or when their boyfriend/girlfriend isn’t understanding them, or that they don’t have a boyfriend/girlfriend; I (trying to refrain from being judgmental of them, but failing to do so) think of them as the biggest idiots and selfish people!

I am ashamed to admit that I, too, once were one among them.

This greed is never-ending. There is this exercise I do everyday, of jotting down all the things that I am grateful for. And even though my life has been stagnant for the past two years now, I’ve so much to be grateful for!

Only one person can become the President of the United States. Only one person can win the best actor award at the Oscars each year.

You can’t achieve everything. But what you have is also a dream to many. Why is it that when we get more, we aren’t satisfied? This craving is never-ending. The word ‘contentment’ has disappeared from our dictionary.

People were living in the 250 B.C. just fine without a Birkin, a Porche, an iPhone and a Beverly Hills home. Infact, they were actually living their life!

Instead of cribbing about what we don’t have, why not concentrate on what we do have! This life, our education which can do wonders for our community, our parents who work so hard so that we can enjoy a luxurious life; there is so much to be grateful for!

When life ain’t going well, as you’ve expected, pause and try to look at it from a different perspective. You will get your answer!

XOXO,

H ❤

Author:

Spreading love and being grateful for everything God has blessed me with. Trying to persuade people to live a happy life and give more to society.

7 thoughts on “Greedy Suckers!

  1. Hasmeet , I totally agree with what you have written . In my Book : Journey from Guwahati to Machhiwara there is one similar story : Happiness is but an occasional episode in general drama of pain .

    Liked by 2 people

  2. We should be always happy with what we have and should always be ready to serve others happily in what they don’t have. Absolutely right that we should try to look from different perspective and not feel so proud what we have in front of others who don’t know about it and who don’t have that 🙂
    Nice experience filled with small but great thoughts by Hasi :*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

