Posted in Life

The Silent Killer-Depression

The only story everyone’s talking about these days is the infamous ‘Sheena Bora Murder Case‘. Though, I am not following it the way media is covering it, I do know about the basic overview of the whole case. I tend to skip the Sheena Bora murder case pages in the newspaper. But, today this short story dedicated to Sheena Bora‘s diary was at the front page of ‘Times of India‘. So, I read it.

Honestly telling, it got me thinking. And sad.

Sheena Bora writes in her diary: “Oh! Happy Birthday to me! But I am not happy. It seems as if I have got nothing in my life. Nothing! My future is very bleak to me. Just depression has encircled me from all sides. Disgusting life it is. I hate my mother, that bloody b**ch. She is not a mother. She is a witch..

And then again she writes: ” Daddy I am very angry with you. Ok I didn’t get any time to write any letter to you but you should have written to me.

Depression, the silent killer.

Often, we tend to give an ignorant look to the ones who seem sad, lonely or just not like us! Sometimes we get annoyed at some people because they didn’t behave well. Or when our very own friends tend to maintain a distance from us.

I know this, because I have been under depression. Not once, but twice.

The first time I suffered depression, I got migraine. The second time I suffered depression, two years ago, I wanted to end my life or just run away to nowhere.

I really didn’t want to talk to anybody at that time. My friends seemed to me as fake. My family seemed to me as not supportive enough. And then one phone call changed it all.

I think the only reason I got out of my second depression phase was because of my family. Because they didn’t leave me alone. Not only my parents or my brother, but my extended family.

Everybody tried their best to convince me to LIVE LIFE!!

And that one phone call was from my bhaiya (elder brother). He just said a very simple thing to me that if your plan A didn’t work out, why don’t you have a plan B?

And I got that plan B from my cousin sister. Oh! How will I ever thank her for that?

What I know about depression and depressed people is that their thinking power tends to be zero at that time. They don’t have any idea about life or anything. Even a small problem, solvable by a kid, seems big to them. And once you are in depression, every feeling of yours get heightened. Your hatred gets magnified. Your love for someone gets magnified. You doubt things. You get insecure.

And people living under these circumstances, often (actually always) act weird. And hence, people, except for their family, turn out to be a problem for them, for they never try to cope with such people.

I have read so many books on optimism after that fiasco. From Robin Sharma to Tony Robbins and Rhonda Byrne, I have read it all. And reading has helped me a lot, besides my very supportive family.

This debate was sparked when Robin Williams was found dead in his apartment and later it came forth that he was suffering from depression. Depression is a clinical condition. It is a DISEASE! Then why do people treat it as a social shame? If you will treat it as a shame, the problem will only aggravate! You ain’t helping it by keeping it under the wraps!

What I went through, I would NEVER want anybody to feel that way. I had wrong friends at that time, and it may sound weird, but I had the wrong foes too! When I look back at that time of my life, I realize how wrong I was to keep those people in my life. 2013 will always be the worst year of my life. But, I learnt a lot from it, too!

There is only one advice I would like to pass on to the ones who are willing to help the depressed people. Always be compassionate and lend a listening ear to those who seem to be sad. I always make it a point to listen to the problems of people, anybody, even if I don’t like them. If your 5 minutes can save someone’s life, then give those 5 minutes to someone.Β 

Nobody knew a man like Robin Williams, rich, famous, and funny could ever suffer from depression.

Look around you. If you find anybody sad, listen to them. Help them. Make them feel that you are there for them.

What makes a species survive? It is not the strongest, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is the most adaptable to changeCharles Darwin.

XOXO,

H

Author:

Spreading love and being grateful for everything God has blessed me with. Trying to persuade people to live a happy life and give more to society.

20 thoughts on “The Silent Killer-Depression

  1. I liked your topic you have chosen today very much.

    There are the people who got into depression.

    But when i check my understanding about life .

    I found my self at better level

    And my poems are so thoughtful.

    We need to understand life , this universe , purpose of life on a larger picture.

    The whole story the whole cycle of life.

    Than life is beautiful.

    Else its miserable..

    Anyway appreciate your courage to choose the topic and have your views

    Hats off to you

    This post has lots of true emotions

    All the best

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an excellent read. Very heartfelt! πŸ™‚

    I actually don’t see depression as a disease, though. I’ve lived with it for so long that I’ve come to look at it as something that’s simply a part of me, and there’s no part of me that’s diseased. It seeks to be heard so I let it speak. It seeks attention so I give it attention. And when it really needs me, I push everyone away, isolate myself with it, and allow myself to be alone with it. I’ve come to see depression not as something to fight or fear or be rid of, but as something to learn to live with and learn how to deal with. For each person, I feel like this takes on a different look, since different people experience depression in different ways.

    So when it comes to depression, I think it helps to recognize it and become aware of how you can best deal with it and put that into practice. For me, personally, this comes in the form of letting it be and appreciating it for being there with me. Without depression, I couldn’t write a good chunk of my poetry. Without depression, I couldn’t write the protagonist in my novels. Without depression, I wouldn’t be able to understand other people who have depression; I wouldn’t be able to talk to them and empathize with them and help them to better understand themselves. There is so much I’ve learned from having depression and so much I look forward to learning for however long I’m in this life. So I appreciate that, I appreciate having depression; I appreciate the pain. It’s not my greatest enemy, but instead, my best friend. But maybe this is because it’s my only friend and has been for so long. Perhaps this is how I have found my peace with it, by offering it the love it craves that no one else will give to it.

    Anyway, keep writing and keep being you. You’re an amazing person and a wonderful human being. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I haven’t someone having a love affair with depression. Definitely it’s the more optimistic outlook to depression. But yes, it has been clinically proven that depression is a disease. And it should be paid immediate attention to. Not all of us posses great strength like you to find inspiration in our depressed periods!

      But it’s great to find someone who has turned upside down the whole meaning of depression and made it seem like a friend, not an enemy 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    2. You sound the same as I feel about bulimia. I remember 23 years ago crying pathetically after my psychologist talked about giving it up, the attachment and fondness I’d developed for my friend. He was asking me to leave a lover, a dependable friend. I said no, walked away from therapy. Bulimia is still my friend, I just chose to visit her infrequently so we can maintain a healthy-enough relationship.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very good, humanizing read on depression. In all four of my significant relationships, my spouses/partners suffered from depression, two knew what “it” was, two had no idea because depression can manifest differently for men. Interestingly enough, all four had estranged / abusive / neglectful fathers. I’ve wondered, clinical depression may be both dis-ease and environmental adaptation or conditioning. I’m just learning more about it, but thank you for emphasizing compassion as the greatest gift you can give to one living with depression. My guy expressed early in our relationship that he was afraid most to give his heart because few lacked compassion with him. The best advice I can add to yours: learn all one can about a situation so not only can one lend compassion, but understanding as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes it kills a person. .I can relate with it hasmeet. ..there was a time I was really fucked up with the decisions made for me but now I am in peace somehow it has come within me…
    And yess listening is so good. .
    I loved the quote at the end

    Liked by 1 person

  5. God has special ways to deal with each one of us. He has been passing you through many phases of life for a purpose which you can take it as “a plan B.”

    You are a brave girl and you have a compassionate heart for others. You express yourself so well. See I started reading one but keep reading one after the other. I like true emotions expressed. I like to feel people.

    Lastly, I just one to encourage that I have seen pain very closely and I go through suffering daily but just remember, “Suffering produces perseverance;Β perseverance, character; and character, hope.” A hope in God. A hope to do best. A hope to live on with a purpose till the end serving others.

    God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

