Posted in criticism

Blogging And Criticism

I was in 8th standard when my mum went to my parent teacher meet. My class teacher, Harvinder sir, asked for my name (my mum went alone). When she told that she’s my mum, Harvinder said that oh! Hasmeet! She’s a very sensitive girl. It still resonates in my mind. It was hardly three months that I was attending his class, which constituted of 45-46 students, and he already knew that I was sensitive.

Now coming to the present moment. Frankly speaking, I have never faced any criticism. But something happened this week which prompted me to wanna delete my blog. But I didn’t. I thought it through. And hence, I didn’t. Someone, really close, someone in my family, said some of the harshest stuff about one of my blog post. And that is not all. The next day, another person from my family said even harsher things about that same blog post. I cried continuously for two days. SENSITIVE.

But, I confided in people I knew understood me better; My mum, my sister, my bhaiya (elder brother) and my best friend. And they calmed me down. (Yes! It takes a huge lot of people to calm me down!)

That day, I was introspecting. Am I not good at taking criticisms? The fact is that nobody ever criticised me before. And then this happened. I need to be strong. This is criticism.

But it wasn’t. It was not criticism. It was, what I would like to call, a Generation-gap.

Criticism should always be constructive. For e.g., your ideas were good, but you could’ve improved them with some real life examples. Or, I think you need to work on your vocabulary or your grammar. Or anything of that sorts which actually points out at the blogger’s weak points WITH THE AIM OF IMPROVISING IT.

Destructive criticism is when you howl harsh words with the aim of hurting the other person and not really with the intention of helping him/her improve. For e.g., you’re good for nothing! Nobody cares what you think or write!

One should always welcome constructive criticism because it is more worth than praise. It is coming from people who truly care for the stuff you put out on your blog and want to help you to improve it better. Destructive criticism is coming from people who are jealous of you or are just trying to degrade you ‘for the sake of fun’.

I know the people I can confide in. They tell me what I need to do to make my blog better. Always try to differentiate between the ones who really care about your work and the ones who are ‘nothing’!!

XOXO

Hย 

Author:

Spreading love and being grateful for everything God has blessed me with. Trying to persuade people to live a happy life and give more to society.

33 thoughts on “Blogging And Criticism

  1. Every incident teaches you something. After this incident, you came out with a greater understanding of who to care for and who not to. There will always be people who are trying to bring you down and it only means that you are above them and they are jealous. At the same time, you will know when someone is giving you constructive criticism and we should always listen to it. Keep up the great work. Best wishes and warm regards.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Handling criticism is difficult.

    Even i am not good at it.

    But again some body said

    No body can hurt you without your permission.

    Every body who know us in real life if read our blog

    90 percent of people out of jealously will not tolerate us.

    I find this blogging community very interesting and nice

    Strangers are comparatively better than real friends.

    Here fellow bloggers appreciate each other like i have never seen before in my real life.

    More over every body has its own point of view we cant expect people will react as per our expectation.

    The more successful you are more you will be criticised.

    You have seen how much we criticise our top leaders
    But they never react and keep doing their job.

    Some times its difficult but life is a name of difficulties you cant expect every thing to be easy

    เค•เฅ€ เคฎเฅเคถเฅเค•เคฟเคฒ เคนเฅˆ เคนเคฐ เคšเฅ€เฅ› เค•เคพ เค†เคธเคพเคจ เคนเฅ‹เคจเคพ

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Nisthur, the only reason that fellow bloggers empower each other is that they know how much effort it takes to write a post. I always make sure to compliment each one of the bloggers I follow because there is good in every post that I see. Also, I work really hard for some post; like research and detailed study. Some posts are difficult to write emotionally. And yes, every person reacts differently to different posts. I find inspiration in the bloggers I follow.

      Well, destructive criticism is just a fancy name given to hate comments.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I still remember her friends “she said, Izza bibi in chezion main kuch nhe rakha” ..she was like it was useless to write n I am wasting my frigging time. .:3 people do it hasmeet. .no matter you all love here

        Liked by 2 people

      2. “Izza bibi” too funny haha. You should have said “bache, aap apne bare main socho aur mujhe sochne do ki isme kuch rakha hai ke nahi. Tum toh kuch kar nahi sakti aur mere ko tum rok nahi sakti”. I get these comments a lot and it is just too funny to argue with them.

        Liked by 2 people

      1. Gaurav, even I don’t have my family on WP, but I do share some of my posts on Facebook and hence they read it. In a way it’s good. One gets know what their family members REALLY think!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

  3. Well I’m glad that you fought out the howling criticism from your family critics Hasmeet! Indeed they have a generation gap with us, but I’m sure though they were not your constructive critics, yet one day you’ll remember their harsh lines to write more beautiful and creative thoughts on your blog! Cheers to them that they will bring out the best in you ๐Ÿ˜Š

    P.S. Always love your critics, irrespective of the fact whoever they are!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sayak, what if I tell you there wasn’t an inch of learning in those comments? That was just pure hate! And in my opinion, one should ignore such people and concentrate on learning the good that this blogging community has to offer ๐Ÿ™‚ I love my critics. In fact I am my harshest critique. I never like anything I write. I know there is a scope of a lot of improvement. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for your support ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It would be completely unfair if i had to judge your critics where I’m no one to do that! Marking your words, then the comments which you’ve faced needs to be deleted to the bin! People obviously don’t like the others to see climbing the ladder smoothly, they try to pull you in the dark grave where they lie. Henceforth you tap your toe and jump one step ahead to continue your climbing ๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Stay strong and keep speaking your mind!! I understand where you’re coming from. I just started blogging and even though I haven’t been criticized yet (I only have two blog posts) I’m sure it will eventually happen. Everyone is different and people want to hear what YOU have to say. Keep up the good work and have fun!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Of course, you are very bad, you are good for nothing.. and no one really cares what you think or write.. huh, so what? Yes, that is true of everyone.. But hasmeet-ey… I don’t care what the rest of the world thinks, I like reading your posts.. and I cherish that (false?) feeling of kinship out here… are we both delusional? living an illusion in a cyber world? Might be, but heck who cares? I like it here.. and I met such wonderful people like you, and I just don’t care.. Please stay.. Tussein na jao.. and I might not have a lollipop in my mouth when I say that, but I bet I will look just as cute ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Dear Hasmeet,

    As I was browsing through your page, I saw this post and it instantly attracted me as I wanted to see what you have faced. It’s good that I did. Now I know you are so sensitive and I like sensitive people because they are connected to life and they have capacity to heal others too.

    I have also been a crybaby despite being a boy lol ๐Ÿ˜›

    I feel true artists are always sensitive. But we need to grow one notch up to be better human beings too. Just a few days ago I said something on a blog which was intended to help a blogger but hurt him. Since then I have revised my words and I am learning.

    I feel positive people always have more energy and they are happier. So when someone sends negativity our away we should transform it into positivity and send some positivity. If that is not possible then we should be compassionate and ignore them(like you said in one of the comments )

    Sometimes it’s miscommunication and despite best of interests in our heart we end-up hurting others. We should let such things go because if not we will end up becoming inert. In other cases when someone is insistent on negativity we should take stand for individuality and our values. Positive people have more energy and negative people are already suffering so they can’t stand against positivity and peace. Compassion transforms people.

    If you drop out of WP it will be a loss of community and world. I just read your tagline and it’s so beautiful. I love it โค

    Stay blessed dear. Keep writing and hold your ground โค

    Anand ๐Ÿ™‚

    { P. S. I will like to read that post. If you have deleted it–you can share with me on mail. }

    Like

  7. Haseet, there are a whole lot of negative stuff that hoes around..criticism is only one of them. When somebody criticises u, smile n walk away..I know it’s difficult but what’s important to understand here is, if u can take any good out of it..if so great, else u have better things to think about.
    Being sweet n cute n adorable n sensitive n all that is fine. U be the Hasmeet u know best! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

