Posted in travel

The Trip I’ve Been Waiting For…

Last minute plan to travel to Amritsar, the Holy city. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but Amritsar is my favorite city in Punjab. Maybe it is the congested streets which make me feel that I’m in the pre-Independence era, or maybe it is the general aura of the city, Amritsar is very special for me.

street 2

I’m not religious. Oh no! I’m spiritual. And I’m spiritually connected with the city. I’ve got no relatives in Amritsar. No friends. But it makes me feel at home, more than Ludhiana, my hometown ❤

I’m such a lazy ass. Haven’t packed my stuff. Have to decide my outfits. Do my hair.. But no. I’m lying in my bed, reminiscing of last year, when we went there. It was a good trip ❤

Last year, we visited the Golden Temple on Eid. My parents were in the gurdwara, listening to kirtan (religious songs), and my brother and I were sitting near the sarovar (holy pond). Pleasant weather, strong winds blowing, a jet sprinkling colorful paper over the pilgrims. And then it started to rain. It was also the birthday of the fourth guru of Sikhs, the next day. The gurudwara was packed with devotees.

I like walking in the streets of Amritsar. Maybe it is the ancient architecture. I dunno what it is. The city is magical.

street

I’ll try uploading some pictures of this short trip. Though I’m not very good at photography. But I’ll try.

Tomorrow will be a good day.

I dunno when I will get the chance to visit Amritsar next. This could be my last visit there. Though, I do have a choice not to move to Bangalore, but I think, it is for the best. I have always made sure to go there atleast once a year. I wish I continue to fulfill this small ritual of mine. ❤

Anybody who hasn’t been to Amritsar, please make sure you do visit the city once. And do try the famous Amritsari naan. I like the Shudhh restaurant best for Amritsari naans. It is right next to the parking.

naan

Amritsar, I’m coming ❤

XOXO

H ❤

Author:

Spreading love and being grateful for everything God has blessed me with. Trying to persuade people to live a happy life and give more to society.

57 thoughts on “The Trip I’ve Been Waiting For…

    1. I really hope Bangalore will be one of my best choices in life. My parents have left it once to decide whether to move there or not. Fingers crossed!!

      And hey! Do visit Shudhh restaurant!!! And order amritsari naan! You’ll love it!! I can’t wait to indulge in the heavenly taste of it!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ll share a small incident with you. I had my 1st semester exams at the university and they didn’t go well at all. I was sure about getting few back logs. A few months after those exams, me along with my friends, we bunked the university to just hang around in Delhi. A friend of mine wanted to go to Bangla Sahib, so everyone agreed. I went there for the first time, it felt really peaceful. I didn’t pray at all. Got back home, and slept. When I woke up, my friend gave me a call telling me that I passed with good marks. This was in December 2011. I didn’t visit Bangla Sahib after that, but I do want to. And, I really want to visit the Golden Temple.
    Enjoyed this write (:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I visited Amritsar once for a day, or few hours rather, and I must say the experience was blissful………. as I wasn’t able to visit ‘The Golden Temple’ so have this deep desire of doing it in my next jaunt, and now I must add Amritsari naan to it also 🙂
    And best wishes to ur Bangalore endeavors 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also want to visit Amritsar. This post is beautiful and images are so exquisite.
    I went to Pyau Sahib, Delhi in 2014 and it was a heavenly experience to attend Keertan over there. Bangalore is a beautiful city and I had great fun over there. I hope you will enjoy too 🙂

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

