Posted in amritsar, travel

So Close, Yet So Far- Amritsar

Finally, my energy level has been restored and I can sit down and talk about what a wonderful trip I had this weekend!

We started from Ludhiana and took a little detour to Sultanpur Lodhi.  Sultanpur Lodhi is the place where the first guru of Sikhs, Guru Nanak Dev Ji stayed for 14 years, 9 months and 13 days. He would bathe daily at the Kali Bein (name of a river).

DSC_0962

DSC_0963

On this sacred land, ‘mool mantra‘, came into being.

There are some 8-9 gurudwaras at Sultanpur Lodhi. We visited only 3 of them. There was a gurudwara where Guru Nanak Dev Ji‘s weighing stones are kept.

DSC_0964 DSC_0965 DSC_0966 DSC_0967

Sorry for the poor photography. I am very bad at taking pictures!

Next, we went to the place where Guru Nanak‘s sister lived. It had a map of all the journeys Guru Nanak undertook.

DSC_0968

Then, we headed towards Goindwal sahab. The historic and religious importance of this place has been explained in the picture below.

DSC_0972

And finally, we reached Amritsar, the city of my dreams!

I tried my best to take good pictures, but I was so bloody tired that I took some average looking pictures. And believe me, the old-city charm of Amritsar hasn’t been captured even by 10% in these pictures.

This is the famous Jalebi Chowk near Golden Temple.

DSC_0975 DSC_0976 DSC_0977 DSC_0978 DSC_0979 DSC_0980

Actually I wanted to capture the traffic jam where my brother and I were standing, but sadly I couldn’t. It was horrible. And yet we were enjoying it!

After reaching our hotel room and freshening up, we headed straight to Golden Temple 🙂 And look how beautiful!

DSC_0985 DSC_0986 DSC_0987 DSC_0992

I love the feeling of being in this heavenly abode. After standing for a full one hour in the queue leading to the main temple, when I paid obeisance, I was given prashad which not all of the devotees get! I was like WHATT??!!! My mum could’nt stop gushing about it. And then we sat in the main temple itself for like half an hour until it was time to put Guru Granth Sahib to rest. I dunno what happened, but I was really missing my grandma and grandpa to death at that very moment. It was a long, tiring and yet exciting day.

The next day my mum and I got ready early and headed straight to the market. I wanted some punjabi juttis, but I couldn’t find what I was looking for. I also clicked the picture of another pre-independence era architectural edifice.

DSC_0995

And then, what I had been dying to do!! We headed to Shudh dhaba!! Though we had to wait for my dad and my brother to join us for breakfast, it was worth the wait!! As always, I had the amritsari naans!!

DSC_0997DSC_0996

After breakfast, we spent some more time in Golden Temple and then did what I love the most; SHOPPING!!!

DSC_0981 DSC_0982

There are many roadside shops in Amritsar selling suits and cloth. Last year I got a very pretty salwar-suit for a mere 350 bucks. And they don’t even compromise with the quality of the cloth. But if you wanna indulge in some real shopping therapy, then the famous kapda (cloth) market is the best place for it.

Accidentally, we found a very good shop last year. And we bought bundles of suits from there. This year we thought why not to try some other shops in this extravagant market. But seriously, it is all rubbish. We were disappointed and had to go back to the same shop from where we shopped last year- Fancy Cloth House! I highly recommend this to every woman!!
image

Scan whole of the kapda market if you wish to, but you will not find anything that matches the quality of this shop, I can guarantee you!!!

DSC_1002 DSC_1003 DSC_1004

This time too, I ate that guy’s head that I want a Pakistani suit!! Last year he gave me one, but it was made in India. But this year I have accomplished a goal and got a ‘Made in Pakistan’ suit for myself. It ain’t exactly what I was looking for. But it is made in Pakistan and in the end that is what matters the most! I was just going through the pictures in my phone when I saw this picture of a dress by the Pakistani fashion house Elan. I showed the picture to my mum and she then showed it to the shopkeeper. He took a piece out and in a matter of a few minutes, I had the exact same cloth used in that dress!!!

Fancy cloth house is the place to be for all women! I was stunned to see all the fabric used in the recently concluded Pakistan fashion week, PLBW 2015, lying in the shop!! And the guy who owns the shop, he knows exactly what the fabric is use for. He designed the dress for me in five minutes!!

And even though I was happy shopping at that time, I knew my trip is going to end and in an hour I’ll be leaving this city.. It was really heartbreaking. I may sound like a lunatic, but it is never easy for me to leave Amritsar.

Author:

Spreading love and being grateful for everything God has blessed me with. Trying to persuade people to live a happy life and give more to society.

23 thoughts on “So Close, Yet So Far- Amritsar

  1. Congratulations on getting Made-in-Pakistan.
    I enjoyed this post so hope you would not mind my longish comment!
    “Pre-independence era architectural edifice.” Stands out in many senses 😛
    Golden temple is so beautiful! I am glad you got Prashad!
    Your pictures are good. Don’t keep judging yourself so often. Especially the Guruji’s weighing stone ones. I read about his stay in Jairamji biography in 2014. It’s a very beautiful biography and so inspiring! It left me in tears!
    You are so fond of “Shuddh Dhaba” it must be an amazing place–if I ever get a chance to visit I will definitely look for it.

    All and all this is such a wonderful travelogue 🙂
    Satnaam!
    Love and light ❤
    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anand, your comments are always so generous!! Thank you for such sweet words. And if I wouldn’t criticise myself, then how will I ever improve? I know the pictures aren’t good. They’re satisfactory 😊 Thank you once again 😊 You’re the light 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are too self-critical dear! It’s good to learn and improve, still first you should accept the way things are and you allow change then. I am not the light. Almighty is love and light and we are all part of that light. Much love and light ❤ Anand

        Liked by 1 person

  2. **(Disclaimer: ‘Anonymous’ comment. Please ignore as usual).
    Bhaag, Dilbagh, bhaagh.. photo vich mar jaunda toon.. waheguru ji tuadhi fateh, waheguruji tuadhi Mercy.. assein photo se bach gaye….

    ਸਾਚੁ ਕਹੋਂ ਸੁਨ ਲੇਹੁ ਸਭੈ ਜਿਨ ਪ੍ਰੇਮ ਕੀਓ ਤਿਨ ਹੀ WordPress vich ignore ਪਾਇਓ :D’

    (Disclaimer-repeat: ‘Anonymous’ comment. Please ignore as usual).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. *(Anonymous blogger says.. Meow!! What is wrong with me learning gurmukhi? of course, badly, and worse, from books.. not first-hand.. grrr-aaaoww… just wait till you get to Madras-land.. not very far from here.. sirigannadam gelge, sirigannadam balge etc.. chauvinist cat here.. regional)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

