Posted in travel, travelogue

Weekend Getaway- Manali!

Hello my WordPress family!! *waving both my hands*

Thank you for all the wonderful wishes. And yes, I did have an awesome weekend!

This post is gonna be fairly long but I will try to insert more pictures and less blabbing, so you can have a great time reading about my wonderful trip to Manali! So, get yourself comfortable, maybe make a cup of coffee or tea, whichever you prefer, and let’s explore MANALI!!

We left at around 8 in the morning on 2nd October, Friday that is, in a hired taxi. The journey was tedious! I literally felt nauseous and was even thinking of coming back. It was just too much. The roads were all messed up. Construction going on everywhere. And that driver wasn’t stopping anywhere!! I would’ve thrown up in the car!

Anyhow, we reached Manali at around 7 in the evening, SAFELY 😀

DSC_1010

By that time, it was all dark and hence we couldn’t see anything from our hotel balcony.

DSC_1011

And then, mum and I went for a little walk nearby our hotel.

DSC_1014

Then, we had dinner and went to sleep as everybody was BLOODY tired! Fun started the next day. The moment I opened my eyes, this was the view!! Spectacular!

DSC_1016

I opened my eyes, and when I saw this, I was literally like, “What the F@$*”!! Then I put on my jacket and rushed to the balcony. The view was gorgeous!! And yes, I had my phone with me at each moment because I wanted you guys to enjoy it as well!!

DSC_1017 DSC_1018 DSC_1019 DSC_1020 DSC_1023 DSC_1024 DSC_1025

I seriously want my each morning to be this beautiful! Spellbound!!

After getting ready, we headed to the Mall road to get some breakfast. Seriously guys, I had the worst idli-sambhar ever! We had all our meals at the Mall road and we tried every restaurant, but the food wasn’t good at all. And yes, I did take some pictures of the Mall road 🙂

DSC_1027 DSC_1029  DSC_1034 DSC_1035 DSC_1037

After breakfast, we rushed to find a taxi which would take us to the famous Rohtang Pass (because one has to get a special pass for own car made one or two days beforehand). The ride to Rohtang Pass was one of the best I have ever experienced. I had my phone in my hand and all I was doing was click, click and click!

DSC_1039 DSC_1041 DSC_1042 DSC_1043 DSC_1045 DSC_1050 DSC_1059

There was a traffic jam some 3 kilometers away from the toll plaza. So my mum, dad and I decided to walk a little (but we ended up walking up all the way to the toll plaza itself!).

DSC_1065 DSC_1067 DSC_1068 DSC_1070 DSC_1071 DSC_1075

There was this policeman checking the passes of all the cars going to Rohtang Pass. He was so good-looking. I literally pleaded my mum to click my picture with him but she did not!! Well, I had to get a picture of him so I clicked a sly one 😀

DSC_1078 DSC_1079

I mean, just look at him and appreciate the fact how ‘Akshay Kumar types’ he looked!  *Forever engraved in my heart*

There were some waterfalls here and there, too.

DSC_1086 DSC_1087

And of course, some more of the Mother Nature 🙂

DSC_1088 DSC_1092

So, after some three hour journey, we reached here 🙂

DSC_1095 DSC_1096 DSC_1097 DSC_1098 DSC_1100 DSC_1101

Strong, cold winds blowing, a serene lake surrounded by snow-capped mountains; the scenic beauty of Rohtang Pass is to die for!! It was so cold that we couldn’t feel even an ounce of the warmth of sun (which was out in its full glory!). But of course, we had to get some good pictures! My dad clicked this one 🙂 My flimsy frame against the mighty mountains; an uncanny combo 🙂

DSC_1116 DSC_1117

The cold took the hell out of us and as soon as we reached Mall road, we had a hot cup of coffee!

DSC_1130

And the cafe had a winsome charm so I couldn’t resist to click this picture.

DSC_1131

When women are in a market, how can they resist shopping??!! Mum and I explored this market on Mall road.

DSC_1132 DSC_1133

There was this one shop apparently selling Kashmiri suits. The guy lured my mum to buy some suits with very intricate thread-work. We sat there to see if he had something different than what we get in Ludhiana. As he was talking, I asked him where he was originally from. He said, “Aap guess kijiye.” (First you guess). I said, “Kashmir”. He said, “Yes. Aur aap kahan se hain?” (Yes, and where are you from?). I told him I’m from Ludhiana. He said, “Ludhiana me kahan se?” (Which place in Ludhiana are you from?). I thought what would he know about Ludhiana. But he went on to say that am I from Mochpura or Chaura Bazaar? My mum and I were stunned! How did this guy know about all these places? So my mum said that it meant that he got this stuff from Ludhiana (Ludhiana is a winter wonderland for all the hosiery retailers because all the woolen clothes are made here). The guy replied that he only got the shawls from Ludhiana 😀 And it was enough for us to understand that he was selling ‘Made in Ludhiana’ clothes in Manali to two Ludhianvis 😀 And yes, we didn’t buy anything from there!

My brother and I were in mood to get some chicken and we found this.

DSC_1137

We ordered a plate of Chicken tikka and, though, it looked yummy, it was one of the worst chicken tikkas I’ve ever had!

DSC_1140

It was watery and very hard to chew. Non-vegetarians will get what I’m saying!

So, after spending some more time on Mall road, we had dinner, which was pathetic as well. I’m telling you guys, it is near to impossible to find good food on Mall road!

The next morning was just as beautiful. I could see the mountains covered with clouds and later we found out that it had rained in Rohtang Pass! We were lucky to visit it just a day before. Our hotel was just five minutes away from the famous Vashisht temple. This temple has natural, sulphur infused hot water coming from the mountains.

DSC_1142 DSC_1143 DSC_1144

We quickly paid obeisance and rushed to Hadimba temple. Hadimba was the wife of Bhim. The temple was located at such a beautiful place! Super long trees surrounding the temple reminded me of Ooty, my favorite hill-station in India. And by the way, it is the same temple where Ranbir and Deepika’s ‘Yeh Jawani Hai Deewani’ was shot at!

DSC_1146 DSC_1147 DSC_1148 DSC_1150 DSC_1151 DSC_1153 DSC_1155 DSC_1157

The temple was a wooden marvel! I loved the ornate work on the temple walls and pillars.

After that, we again headed to the Mall road to get breakfast. This time though, it was YUM!! Name of the restaurant was ‘Dawat’ and I ordered Chicken sandwich and omelette. It was the yummiest meal of the trip! Though, I didn’t touch this cabbage thingy on plate.

DSC_1161 DSC_1162

After a hearty meal, my mum and I went to this shop selling natural fruit sweets. We got a lot of stuff from there. But yesterday when I was eating the amla candy, I saw the packaging and it was manufactured in Patiala 😀 BUMMER 😀

DSC_1036

And that was our Manali trip! We took a detour to Mani Karan, the place where Hinduism, Sikhism and Islam unites 🙂

DSC_1164 DSC_1166 DSC_1169 DSC_1171 DSC_1172 DSC_1173

And if you can see the hot water oozing out of the rocks just beneath the main temple. Nature’s wonder!!

DSC_1170

Just a few months ago, a huge rock fell on the rooms meant for the pilgrims and killed some of them.

DSC_1174

We were looking at how the rock fell diagonally and wrecked the building!

We were meant to stay there for a night but my brother wasn’t feeling well and hence we had to cut short our trip. The drive back home was dangerous because a. the roads were quite risky and b. our driver was reckless!!

The trip ended on a sad note because a street dog came under our car. We were startled. His shrieks are still reverberating in my mind.. Though it was around 1:30 a.m. and the driver was on the wheel since 11 a.m. and he was bound to feel dizzy and tired. Maybe that’s the reason I got that perturbing dream?

Anyhow, thank you for all the love you guys showed to my Amritsar travelogue 🙂 I hope you guys enjoyed the Manali trip as much as I did 🙂

(All pictures clicked from my Sony Xperia Z2)

XOXO,

H ❤

Author:

Spreading love and being grateful for everything God has blessed me with. Trying to persuade people to live a happy life and give more to society.

66 thoughts on “Weekend Getaway- Manali!

  1. Woww wat a nareation of the trip. I felt like literally I’m in Manali while reading. So point to note is food is a main concern in manali. Dawat is the only certified proper restaurant. Above all those pictures are captivating. Got to say, u have got some solid photography skills. Credits to the camera though :p
    Loved this place 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent Hasmeet. Pictures are awesome and so is your word flow. I am sooooo jealous…snow capped mountains..wow!! I could get lost there… 🙂 the good way of course 😉 From the policeman to the Chicken sandwich and omelette..amazing ride of words full of emotion and excitement.
    Had a smile on my face all through while reading all about the trip 🙂
    Oh and btw is that you facing backwards to the camera looking against the mountains? You could have clicked one the other way and posted it for all your friends on WordPress 😦 Was it really cold out there…what was the average temperature like?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Kodaikanal!! I went there for a day!! Good place 🙂 It wasn’t as cold though.. Though we went there in june-july maybe.. 12 degrees ain’t that cold! The place itself wasn’t that cold.. but the wind was what caused problem. Because it was the highest point there surrounded by mountains..

        Liked by 1 person

      2. oh yes amazing..and getting drenched in the middle of nowhere on the shore..where your only option is to keep walking in the rain…stupid of me not to take an umbrella, but enjoyed getting wet!! soaking wet 🙂 ..and then it gets more difficult to walk coz ur carrying more weight 🙂
        I see it as God being kind to me for the summers he gives us for the rest of the year 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a wonderful post Hasmeet! And that Akshay Kumar types policeman is indeed dashing. 😛

    Maybe your compliements might have made his day 😀

    Pictures are out of the world( well, most of them!)

    Thanks for sharing these.

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you letting me know about your post 😀 Kitna bakwas insaan hu mai 😛 Loved the images and I am definitely going there this December 😉 Sad ending but it’s life and good that you enjoyed food and the place 😉 waiting eagerly for December 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow..I was about to ask your trip and here your post filled with so pictures. .that lake and snow covered mountains were so epic. I m so glad you had fun. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I would like to say Wow! The way you explained your trip starting from you left for manali and return back. The journey you experienced and expressed, it seems like I was traveling along with you guys. 🙂 Wonderful words, cheerful moments you felt with mountain beauty , I want this place to witness everything. 🙂 Thank you for sharing your experience. 🙂 This might be helpful to many of us. I and my husband love traveling and to explore places 🙂 🙂 Surely this place has already in our list 😉 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

