Posted in communal, dadri, hate

Because, I CAN..

My country, India, is struggling to cope with the rising communal tension brewing up in different states. Somewhere, the religious sentiments of a community are heralded, and somewhere a rumor gets a man killed..

I will not blame any religion, any politician, any single state. Because I am no one to blame. I am the one to be blamed. This society, the apparently ‘diverse‘ one, that I boast of while writing essays or giving speeches, constitutes of people like me. And when I am involved, when I am the culprit, then who am I to blame someone?

You see, I get offended when people of a certain religion or state or whatever, do what they’ve done for centuries. Yes! I suddenly get offended by it all! Why? Because, I CAN! Ever heard of ‘Freedom of Speech‘? Yeah, I have that in my country. And the most powerful right that I have is ‘The Right to Freedom of Religion’ guaranteed by Article 15 and Article 25 of the Constitution of India. And I very well know, how to exercise it.

I wanna share a small incident (well, sort of). Today when I woke up, this is what I read about..

news

26 years old man. Yes. 26 years old only. Killed at the border. Why did he die? He could have spent a comfortable life in Ludhiana, my hometown, his hometown too! Because, that is what I do! I lead a comfortable life! But you know what? He chose not to! He went there and fought with the infiltrators for my sake! I slept peacefully in my room because I knew that brave-hearts like Surinder Singh can die for my safety. He was supposed to get married on 27th of November, that is the next month. He helped built a home for his family, which he never got a chance to see..

If this noble soul can die for me, what can I do for him? I sit back and see the hatred spewed on his countrymen. I sit back and see innocent people being killed for eating beef, which they have been doing since forever. I sit back and see his family members suffer because they’ve lost their breadwinner, but most importantly, their son, their brother. Because, I CAN!

But I will still suppress the freedom of others. Because I CAN! I will go on killing/lynching innocents. I will go on spreading hate for certain people because they were born in a certain family. I will go on keeping a tab on someone’s plate (or fridge!). Because, I CAN!

XOXO,

H

Author:

Spreading love and being grateful for everything God has blessed me with. Trying to persuade people to live a happy life and give more to society.

27 thoughts on “Because, I CAN..

  1. Oh this is beautifully, touching and moving.

    I am really sorry for the young man. RIP.

    I totally understand and respect your anger and sentiments. God bless you.

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. India is not, as people keep calling it, an underdeveloped country, but rather, in the context of its history and cultural heritage, a highly developed one in an advanced state of decay.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. you see what i feel is that we should be prepared to witness such incidents again..its the true and sad part

        but in the mean time there can be two approaches simultaneouly .One is to take stringent action whosoever spreading the communal violence in whatever degree it may be,
        why should be develop a feeling of hate when we hear come across other communities, its a mental disorder, the “self”, the “me first” character is perhaps the reason for any sort of hatred, and
        Second, the feeling of left out or being isolated must be taken care with a soft and benevolent way . it should not be politicised ..It will certainly create fellow feeling

        we must inculcate that everyone is needed someway or the other, hence everyone should be respected, feeling of compassion is perhaps the other way ..it will take time…but we can contribute from ourselves

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The aim of life is no more to control the mind, but to develop it harmoniously; not to achieve salvation here after, but to make the best use of it here below; and not to realise truth, beauty and good only in contemplation, but also in the actual experience of daily life; social progress depends not upon the ennoblement of the few but on the enrichment of democracy; universal brotherhood can be achieved only when there is an equality of opportunity – of opportunity in the social, political and individual life.— from Bhagat Singh’s prison diary, p. 124

    Liked by 1 person

  3. War, terrorism, riots, violence, it’s funny how easily we people can be divided and played by.
    You know sacrifice for the nation or loved one’s is considered as a noble cause, but suffering due to the same don’t call for any justice.
    He didn’t deserve to die, nor the others on the other side of line.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I really liked this one hasmeet. Many people are least cared about these brave soldiers and their sacrifices. People give more preference for a celebrity tweet about his pet or her new hairstyle. But even if a brave martyr dies fighting for our country and for our safety, many of us are least worried. That’s just a number about how many died and how many injured. How many of us feels responsible and think of their agony. After all these sacrifices whom they are safeguarding .. a corrupted politician ..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pavan, my point here was to point out how some people are even ready to lay down their lives for our nation and we are letting them down with these communal feelings. Such hate crimes should have no place in our country. Humanity is what we should safeguard and not thousands of religions.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

